So You Know Your Enneagram Type, Now What?

When I first discovered The Enneagram, there were few resources out there to help me navigate this tool, particularly from a faith-based perspective.

Today much has changed, and the Enneagram is rapidly growing in popularity, even in faith circles. This is because of its unique ability to help you understand your inner world and also the heart motivations of your loved ones. 

You may already know your Enneagram Type, but if not, here are the 9 basic personality Types:

Enneagram Type 1 is the Principled Reformer. 

They fear being wrong, bad, evil, inappropriate, unredeemable, or corruptible. They desire to have integrity and be seen as good, balanced, accurate, virtuous, and right.

Enneagram Type 2 is the Nurturing Supporter. 

They fear being rejected or unwanted. They also fear being thought of as worthless, needy, inconsequential, dispensable, or unworthy of love. They desire to be appreciated, loved, and wanted.

Enneagram Type 3 is the Admirable Achiever. 

They fear being exposed or thought of as incompetent, inefficient, or worthless. They also fear failing to be or appear successful. They desire high status and respect, being admired, successful, and valuable.

Enneagram Type 4 is the Introspective Individualist. 

They fear being inadequate, emotionally cut off, plain, mundane, defective, flawed, or insignificant. They desire to be unique, special, and authentic.

Enneagram Type 5 is the Analytical Investigator. 

They fear being annihilated, invaded, or not existing. They also fear being thought of as incapable or ignorant, having obligations placed upon them, or having their energy depleted. They desire to be capable and competent. 

Enneagram Type 6 is the Faithful Guardian. 

They fear fear itself, being without support, security, or guidance and being blamed, targeted, alone, or physically abandoned. They desire to have security, guidance, and support.

Enneagram Type 7 is the Enthusiastic Optimist.

They fear being deprived, trapped in emotional pain, limited, or bored, and missing out on something fun. They desire to be happy, fully satisfied, and content. 

Enneagram Type 8 is the Passionate Protector. 

They fear being weak, powerless, harmed, controlled, vulnerable, manipulated, and left at the mercy of injustice. They desire to protect themselves and those in their inner circle.

Enneagram Type 9 is the Peaceful Accommodator. 

They fear being in conflict, tension, or discord, feeling shut out and overlooked, and losing connection and relationships with others. They desire to have inner stability and peace of mind.

Beth McCord
Beth McCord
Beth McCord is an Enneagram expert and Founder of Your Enneagram Coach, one of the most prominent Enneagram programs that helps you discover, explore and become your best self while simplifying the truths of the Enneagram from a biblical perspective. Self-awareness is key to cultivating healthy relationships, and the Enneagram is a tool to help identify why you are the way you are and the motivations behind your tendencies.

Related Posts


Recent Stories