25 Ways to Speak Your Child’s Love Language

Do you know what your child’s love languages are? Have you ever thought about it?

If you’re not familiar with the 5 Love Languages, basically it’s a concept that states that different people give and receive love best in one of five different ways:

  • Words of Encouragement
  • Acts of Service
  • Quality Time
  • Physical Touch
  • Gift Giving

While most people would be happy to receive any of the five, almost everyone has one or two they prefer over all of the others.

And if you can figure out which love languages your children prefer, it becomes way easier to love them better, in the ways that matter most to them!

For example, my children love physical touch.

When I tell them how cute or how smart they are (words of affirmation), it tends to go in one ear and out the other. And when I ask if they want to bake banana bread with me or go run errands with me (quality time), half the time they’d rather not.

But if they’re having a rough day, snuggling up on the couch with mom always makes it better. It’s how they feel most loved.

The Love Languages concept was first made popular by Gary Chapman in his book, The 5 Love Language: The Secret to Love that Lasts.

Since then, it has become so popular that Chapman later went on to write multiple other versions, including  The 5 Love Languages of ChildrenThe 5 Love Languages of Teenagers, The 5 Languages of Appreciation in the Workplace, and many others.

While the idea behind the 5 love languages hasn’t changed much since the original book first came out, the way you apply the concept can vary quite a bit depending on who you’re trying to relate to.

That’s why today I’m sharing 25 Ways to Speak Your Child’s Love Language!

Words of Encouragement

If your children have the “Words of Encouragement” love language, hearing your kind words of affirmation will brighten up their whole day! Here are 5 ways to do just that:

1. Tell your children you love them every day.

2. Compliment them regularly.

3. Congratulate them on their efforts and achievements.

4. Let them overhear your talking well of them to others.

5. Slip encouraging notes in their lunch boxes or backpacks.

Acts of Service

If your children have the “Acts of Service” love language, they’ll feel most loved when you are doing tasks for them to help them out. Here are 5 ways to do just that:

1. Help your children with their homework, school projects or extracurricular activities.

2. Do your children’s chores for them if they are having a particularly busy or chaotic week.

3. Drive your children to their friend’s houses, the mall or to extracurricular activities.

4. Mend or replace your children’s clothes when they become torn or they are missing a button.

5. Maintain a positive, joyful attitude as you serve your children instead of an annoyed, resentful attitude. Don’t treat your children as an imposition.

Quality Time

If your children have the “Quality Time” love language, they want your uninterrupted time and attention. Here are 5 ways to do just that:

Brittany - Equipping Godly Women
Brittany - Equipping Godly Women
A devoted Christian, wife and mother, Brittany loves helping other women grow in these roles as well. She does this primarily through her website, EquippingGodlyWomen.com, where she challenges, encourages and equips Christian women to be ALL IN in faith and family. Brittany is also the author of Putting God First  and the creator of the Quiet Time Planning Guide, a free guide to help Christian women make regular Bible reading a priority.

Related Posts


Recent Stories